Joe Hisaishi

Joe Hisaishi

Kisshō Tennyo


In stock

Label: Lag Records

Format: LP

Product Description

Whilst known worldwide for his elegiac scores to Studio Ghibli classics like Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away, it’s a different kind of soundtrack behind Kisshō Tennyo, intended as it was to be a musical accompaniment to an ‘80s manga of the same name.

It’s also a showcase of Hisaishi’s lesser known talents as an electronic musician, shortly before he became composer of choice for world-renowned directors such as Hayao Miyazaki and Takeshi Kitano.

On Kisshō Tennyo we hear Hisaishi unleash synth arpeggios with all the suspense of a giallo horror. His cold minimalist ambience evokes the likes of Terry Riley. Tracks like 血の抗争 (‘Blood Feud’) meanwhile lighten the mood, running at car chase speed with the bounce of early YMO. All in all, befittingly beguiling music for the cartoon tale of a modern femme fatale who has the powers of an ancient deity (the eponymous Kisshō Tennyo or ‘吉祥天女’, to use the album’s Japanese title).

A1     Legend Of Tennyo     04:57
A2     Kanou Sayoko         05:09
A3     Toono Ryou         03:16
A4     Flight Of Tennyo     01:36
A5     Toono Akira         04:25
B1     Enchantress         04:12
B2     Blood Feud         04:11
B3     Sayoko And Ryou     03:16
B4     Premonition         05:45
B5     Reincarnation         02:39